Dreams Starting

I had always dreamed of modelling as I always seemed to LOVE having my photo taken.
Only a few people knew this as it was always a hidden desire and one I wasn’t amazingly proud of.
I was so worried about others opinions and what they would say I kept it to myself and thought nothing of it.

However in the summer of 2011 I went to a beautiful house called Wiston Estate where an event called “David’s Tent” took place. (http://davidstent.net)

Named after the character of David in the Bible, the event was focusing on worship, freedom and expression of ourselves.
Worship is the one major time I get to be TRULY myself. There is no judgement – you can  dance, sing, paint.

It was the first moment I recognised that I have a love of photography and modelling. However I didn’t know why. I realised there must be a reason. God had been showing me that we are unique and that as we come alive in who we are others come alive in who they are too.
A friend knew a photographer and after introducing me we did a shoot the next day.

An incredible man,  Jonathan Self, (http://www.jonathanself.co.uk)
saw beyond my outward beauty and into my heart. He drew that out and captured my love for Jesus, making me realise that THAT is the most beautiful thing. I felt totally alive.
This shoot was the very START of me believing my desires could come true.
In that moment of him believing in me I started to believe in myself. That birthed something inside me.

He captured my heart and who I am. Similarly saying: “I can see Jesus in your eyes” (Heidi Baker 2012).

I can’t explain it other than I saw myself differently when I looked into the camera. It felt like it was through another pair of eyes. My shame and fears dropped off and I felt like royalty, precious, seen, known, held, forgiven and loved. Feelings that I can still feel right now!

It was an unforgettable experience.
I saw for the first time that God has given us each dreams and desires to pursue unashamedly, no matter what they are, they will have a purpose beyond what we imagined.
Who we are is all that matters to Him, as we get to reflect him and His character.

“I am His masterpiece” – 

Jessica Wilmot

“You are fearfully and wonderfully made, my works are wonderful I know that full well”
Psalm 139:14

Jonathan captured:

Joy….

A Rich Simplicity….

A Vibrance…

Peace…

Leave a Reply

