Face Uncomfortable Feelings

So this is a message to myself more than anything…

I often find life brings uncomfortable moments, feelings and thoughts and often in those times it’s hard to know what to do.
There are many self help books, blogs and posts we can read, yet often in those moments we feel alone and unsure of what is next.

ROSE 2

Well I encourage you, Don’t run from them but embrace them.
WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? TO embrace uncomfortable moments.

 

DSCF8035

Well for me, it’s easy to turn to more sleep, more food, exercise etc, but those are just there to try and smooth out the uncomfortable feelings underneath.
To embrace the feelings may mean to cry, to punch a pillow, to tear up some paper, to scribble some drawings, to paint a picture, to write a song, a letter, a poem….whatever makes you feel safe to feel what you need to feel.

…..those are all healthier ways of dealing with those arising feelings that don’t feel very important or significant (and I’d want to compress and suppress).
But as I let those out through tears, a hug, a drawing …the results can be much better and more beautiful than I ever expected, and instead of the situation crushing me, I see that as I embraced the feelings, I crushed them and in fact brought something good and even more beautiful out of it!

So why not give it a try.
I know I’m not the only one who feels this way…

How about the next time you face an ‘uncomfortable’ feeling you create something new, different and beautiful from it. Do let me know how this goes for you.

Leave a Reply

