Arriving in Hong Kong

So I have arrived in the land of Hong KONG yesterday evening!
As we landed I was truly in awe of the fact that I am in a place that I have never been before. A completely NEW land to me. That feeling can replace no other. It felt amazingly special to feel that feeling.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

It also metaphorically felt as if it was mirroring something in my own personal life – that there are places within myself I have wanted to go but never known how. However landing in Hong Kong surrounded by incredibly beautiful mountains, I suddenly felt that NEW places and possibilities ARE possible even within myself.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Already it’s made me realise how easy it is to suppress your dreams and ideas and limit yourself in relation to what you’re ‘used to’. But my encouragement to anyone reading this is to NEVER EVER settle for what you already know but always reach out of the box and find NEW places within your life and your surroundings to pursue more of who you are.

SO…I can’t express how thankful, and in awe of the fact that I am here!
It only felt like a dream to come here. So I guess anything is possible.
I am so thankful to God also for giving me the courage and helping me to trust him every step, even when doubts crept in!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

While picking up my bags at baggage reclaim I met two lovely men from Milan who are videographers. I asked if they would ever let me do some work experience with them. They greatly agreed and gave me their contact details! This rebirthed some dreams in me to travel with my photography and film and made me smile from inside out. I also mentioned how I am hoping to buy a new camera and asked their suggestion of which to buy (that is a pro one but not too heavy or expensive!) as I’ve been thinking of a Canon 5D Mark 3. Their opinion was Sony Alpha 7s Mark 2. Please do comment below what you think? Or have any offers on camera of this sort?

After reclaiming bags and walking out into the walkway, those little butterflies came to me…”Will my friend be there to greet me?”

I got out my phone and pressed, record! In hope that she would be!
As I turned the corner I was full of expectation but also fear of disappointment, until I heard my name being called!….“JESSICAAAA”…Where is she?” I thought.
Then I saw her – all dressed in yellow and beaming with JOY! “JEANET!“. They even had a sign with my name on it saying “Welcome to HK, Jessica!” (It’s always my dream to have someone greet me like that, and dressed in yellow was an extra bonus!).

 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

 

 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

 

I swiftly had to visit the bathroom as I hadn’t moved to the entire 9.5/10 hour flight! So the loo was much needed! We then had a few piccies and couldn’t stop radiating with smiles, before moving onto the train to the event that the girls had been involved with.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

What a start…
God goes beyond my expectations. I don’t need to let fears of disappointment steal my dreams.

The message of the evening was all about speaking “life into dry bones”, and never underestimating the power of your words”. This was amazingly relevant for me.

Then as the music played I felt such a sense of hope rising. I really wanted to dance, I got out my “Believe” scarf and danced with it!

 

 

One thought on “Arriving in Hong Kong

  1. Love it!
    I like how you journal. this is so inspiring and fun to hear your story! Getting out of your comfort zone and bring the joy and faith with you to Hong Kong, I can tell you are a legend and You are such a bae to Jesus. Lots of love and bless you xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

