Priorities

“In order to say YES to your priorities, you have to be willing to say NO to something else”

Recently I have been really interested by the prospect of PRIORITIES. It’s really made me question what mine are as well as made me question:”Where do I spend my time?”. Time is a really precious thing. We all have the same amount of time in a day, yet not one person will spend it the same way. We all have priorities, agendas and expectations. But what if for one week I changed a little thing in my ‘normal’ schedule and wrote on my blog for an extra half hour? What if I didn’t go to one friends party who’s not a close friend and instead consciously decided to visit a struggling close friend? What if I decided the prioritise my money so that I don’t spend it on little unnecessary coffees, but saved it for the times I want to travel!?

The underlying question is however: WHAT ARE MY PRIORITIES!?

I love the initial quote I found, as lately I’ve really realised how difficult it can sometimes be to say NO to things. Especially ideas, events or conversations which seem really appealing and exciting.  I have often seen saying “no” in a negative light. However recently I saw a picture analogy for this:

Imagine you are standing facing a wide open door, however the door leads into brambles and quite an unattractive route. You have the ability to say YES or NO, however at that moment in time, it seems like there is no other option if you did say ‘no’ and close the door. However you pluck up the courage, and gently you shut the door. As the door is shutting a light shines in your eyes, and there, behind that previously open door stands golden shining palace gates that lead to something beautiful, even magical, that is full of light and joy. That is the moment you utter “YES”.
(In this moment you see that through saying NO to one option it opened up the beautiful prospect of being welcomed into an even better and more beautiful adventure).

 

QUESTIONS OF THE DAY?:
WHAT ARE YOUR PRIORITIES?
Are there things in your life at the moment that you’d like to say ‘no’ to but you don’t quite know what lies on the other side of your answer?

 

INSPIRING QUOTES:

Your priorities aren’t what you say they are. They are revealed through how you live.

Your priorities are your character. (purehappylife.com)

No one is busy in this life. It’s all about priorities.

Good things happen when you set your priorities straight. – Scott Can

Leave a Reply

