JOY (Day 17)

Joy that is beyond circumstances…It comes from THANKFULNESS.

After meeting two friends today I just felt I was floating this afternoon. Totally not worried about anything really but fully enjoying London life at Christmas with nothing else on my mind. I am not an avid fan of the “stuff” involved with Christmas. The unnecessary gifts and items everywhere around London. I find it almost overwhelming. Yet once I had found a quiet and restful place to sit a while I just reflected and prayed. I let God speak to me and listened to His whisper. I was so uplifted to realise it’s really those alone and secret moments that make who I am. He encourages me more than anyone ever could. He brings a smile to my face and is ALWAYS guiding my steps before I even take them. It blows me away.

After popping to the toilet I texted my friend to see where they were. We ended up jokily seeing if we would bump into each other….
Which we ended up doing and even more amazingly in front of the Rubies in the Rubble stall! Jen Costa of whom I met a few years ago, who just beams with life and love.
I particularly fell in love with their “Top Banana” ketchup sold by a lovely guy called Tom.

 

 

 

The majority of the day was spent just walking and wandering through the streets yet despite the buzz I had no sense of rush or expectation. Just a wonderful peace.
At one point I was really struck when my friend turned to me and said “just watch”, while he promptly walked up to the policemen in a group and boldly interrupted them to say:
“Hi there, just wanted to say a massive thank you for all that you do for our city. It really wouldn’t run without your hard work, so just wanted to come and say thank you!”

It was quite an experience to watch one of the faces of the policemen go from a an expression of “are you taking the mick?“, to pure relief and joy when he realised the words were most sincere and genuine. This moment of intentional thankfulness really hit me and I realised even more the impact these two simple words can make to people’s lives!

THANK YOU!

Often it’s so easy to look at what we don’t have, or what people could do better, but to instead take a step back and thank them for who they are and what they bring is a truly special gift and worth sharing!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Challenge:

To thank someone that you might otherwise take for granted.
To do it openly and honestly and with fully genuine heart and motive and in the way you think they would receive it best!

Leave a Reply

